Rockin’ at the Ren Faire

Ah, the Renaissance Faire! Home to jousts and falconry, rife with bards and minstrels playing Elizabethan music for your enjoyment. Lutes and flutes and hammered dulcimers performing the greatest hits of the 16th century. So imagine my surprise when walking over to the food court, I hear the opening strains of a Led Zeppelin song.

No really. Led Zeppelin.

Now I’m not a huge Led Zeppelin fan so I didn’t know which Led Zeppelin song it was, but I know Led Zeppelin when I hear it. And I was hearing it.

Live.

And nearby.

I turn and see a woman in a harem costume playing a violin on the stage behind me. She’s definitely playing the music and it is definitely Led Zeppelin. But not The Immigrant Song because I recognize that one. Anyway, I meet up with my friends and tell them “There’s a lady over there playing a Led Zeppelin song on her violin.”

“What?” Lisa gives me a you-do-know-you-are-at-the-Renaissance-Faire look.

“No, that lady over there with the violin. She’s playing a Led Zeppelin song.”

“Which Led Zeppelin song?” Mark asks.

“I don’t know. The one that goes…DA DA DA..da…DA DA DA.”

“Kashmir?”

“Could be.”

They all strain to listen. No one is hearing Led Zeppelin but me. Okay, fine, never mind. Let’s get some gelato.

But after gorging ourselves, we become intrigued by a woman bellydancing to Irish folk music. “That’s the same band that was playing Led Zeppelin.”

Crickets.

Fine.

But the band is great. Circa Paleo, out of Texas. They play Scottish songs and Viking songs and Irish-Middle Eastern songs. In fact, they are so good, we don’t leave after their set. We wait for them to come back and play us some more Gypsy music and Turkish folk songs half an hour later.

And nobody says anything, but I know they’re thinking that I am totally crazy. Because nothing the band has played so far even remotely resembles anything that could be mistaken for Led Zeppelin. Even I’m beginning to wonder how I could have mistaken Irish fiddle music for a famous rock song.

But as the show is winding down, the girl with the violin looks at the girl with the guitar. “We have time for another one. Are you tuned for Kashmir?”

All my friends turn and look at me. I smile back.

I should have made them buy me some more gelato.

2 thoughts on “Rockin’ at the Ren Faire

  1. Yes! Validation! And as soon as you said “Led Zeppelin” and “violin” I knew it was Kashmir. I could hear it in my head 🙂

Leave a Reply

